THE CHARTER TOWNSHIP OF OSHTEMO Township Board Minutes Special Meeting March 18, 2014

The Oshtemo Township Board held a special meeting at the Township Hall. Supervisor Heiny-Cogswell called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

PRESENT: Supervisor Libby Heiny-Cogswell Clerk Deb Everett Trustee Dave Bushouse Treasurer Nancy Culp Trustee Nancy Carr Trustee Dusty Farmer Trustee Lee Larson

Also present was James Porter, Township Attorney, Marc Elliott, Township Engineer, Greg Milliken, Planning Director and 3 interested people.

SOUTH DRAKE ROAD CORRIDOR IMPROVEMENT AUTHORITY (SoDA)

Planning Director Milliken advised the 60 day waiting period following the public hearing on the Corridor Improvement Authority held on January 14th concluded on March 15th with the Kalamazoo Public Library being the only entity to opt out, therefore Kalamazoo County, KVCC, and the Township will be included. He noted the next step a resolution to be adopted by the Township Board establishing the authority and then appointment of the authority Board.

He further advised the next step would be the authority Board drafting a development and tax increment financing (TIF) plan, which they would recommend to the Township Board, working toward a public hearing on April 22^{nd.}

In response to Board members questions, he advised the SoDA Board would operate like the Downtown Development Authority (DDA), developing a budget and implementing plans, after approval from the Township Board, and revenue captured must be spent in the district. He also advised being in the district does not impact property assessments, taxes would not increase due to being in the district.

Mr. Milliken also advised there will be a 60 day public comment period, then a public hearing for the proposed development plan during which time the taxing entities have another opportunity to opt out.

Motion by Larson, second by Farmer to adopt the resolution to establish the South Drake Road Corridor Improvement Authority. Roll call showed Bushouse-yes, Carr-no, Culp-yes, Heiny-Cogswell-yes, Everett-yes, Larson-yes, Farmer-yes.

SoDA BOARD APPOINTMENTS

Supervisor Heiny-Cogswell advised the board must consist of 5 to 9 members with at least one resident within one-half mile of the district, and a majority with ownership or business interest in the district and one Township Board member. The terms are four years, staggered. She advised more applications were received than the number of members needed and she worked to provide a balance for the new board and proposed the following slate:

Corey Ashley, Group Marketing Services (Business Comptroller)	term ending 12/31/2017
Kelly Bringman, Nottingham Apts (Apartment Manager)	term ending 12/31/2017
John Disbro, Skyridge Church of the Brethren (Educ. Facilities)	term ending 12/31/2016
Joe Gesmundo, American Village Builders (Business Developer)	term ending 12/31/2016
Deb Jung, Resident (Civil Engineer)	term ending 12/31/2015
Jackie Kimble, Resident (911 Dispatcher, Social Worker, Secretary)	term ending 12/31/2015
Dennis Patzer, At large (School Administrator)	term ending 12/31/2014
Theresa Spurr, Spurr Dental Office (Business Owner)	term ending 12/31/2014
Libby Heiny-Cogswell, Twp. Board Liaison (Supervisor, Landscape Architect)	term ending 12/31/2014

Motion by Larson, second by Farmer to approve the SoDA Board appointments as presented. Carried 7-0.

OTHER BUSINESS

Trustee Farmer commented she would like to see a year end summary from the Township Board similar to the report of the Planning Commission as well as regular committee reports.

There was no further business and the meeting was adjourned at approximately 4:20 p.m.

DEBORAH L. EVERETT TOWNSHIP CLERK Attested: LIBBY HEINY-COGSWELL SUPERVISOR